Girls Varsity Soccer · Henderson Named 1st Team All-Region; Talley Runner-Up for Region Player of the Year

Griffin, GA, May 1, 2018 – Skyler Henderson was named to the region 3-AAAAA soccer All-Region Team while Jalesa Talley finished second in voting for Region Player of the Year.

Skyler Henderson, a junior defender and team captain, helped lead the Lady Bears to a fifth place finish in region 3-AAAAA and a record of 8-7 (2-3 region).  Her quickness and tough defending provided needed experience to a young Lady Bears squad throughout the season.  Henderson scored 2 goals and 1 assist in 2018.  This is Henderson’s second recognition for the quality of her play; in 2017 she was selected to appear in the Georgia High School Soccer All-Star Game.  Head Coach Bill Stikes praised Henderson’s play, saying “Skyler is a tough athlete who works hard for our team.  She is a hard tackler and I’m not surprised other coaches in the region recognized her for her play.”

Jalesa Talley, a freshman forward, finished as runner-up in voting for Region Player of the Year.  Talley led the region in goals scored, tallying 28 along with 5 assists.    Talley’s quickness and technical ability allowed her to finish the year as the 3rd best freshman goal-scorer in Georgia according to MaxPreps.  According to Stikes, “Jalesa is very talented and a hard worker.  She strives to get better every day and I can’t wait to see how she continues to improve over the next few years.”

 Henderson and Talley will both return for the Lady Bears in the 2019 season, as Griffin tries to build off consecutive 5th place finishes in region 3-AAAAA, one of the strongest soccer regions in any classification in the state.  “We had a young team this year, and I look forward to watching the girls work hard in the classroom, weight room and field to continue getting better,” said Stikes, “Led by great people like Jalesa and Skyler, Griffin High soccer has laid the foundation for a successful future.”

 3-AAAAA All –Region Team:

 Goalkeeper: Emily Lopez (McIntosh)

 Defenders: Sara Biddle (Starr’s Mill), Molly Downing (Whitewater), Skyler Henderson (Griffin), Isabelle Odutola (Fayette Co), Emma Whitson (McIntosh)

 Midfielders: Rachel Davison (Starr’s Mill), Kimmy Edgeworth (McIntosh), Hannah Ellison (McIntosh), Melanie Mikoy (Fayette Co), Ivette Perez (Morrow), Jolie Ryff (Whitewater), Madison Wright (Whitewater)

 Forwards: Abbie Crane (Whitewater), Shannon McGregor (Fayette Co), Tariah Miller (McIntosh), Chloe Thompson (Starr’s Mill)

 Coach of the Year: John Bowen (Starr’s Mill)

Player of the Year: Abby Crane (Whitewater)